How Old Do You Have to Be to Get a Tattoo in Florida?
It can be difficult to keep up with the varying laws when it comes to the age a minor can legally get a tattoo. Each state has their own laws and they can vary significantly from one to another. Therefore it makes sense that many parents and teens often wonder what the age is in their state or in states that it is popular for teens to go to for Spring Break trips. In the state of Florida, the legal age that a minor can get a tattoo is 16 years old, however, it’s not quite that black and white. In this article, we’ll cover all the details you need to keep in mind and answer your biggest questions before getting your tattoo.
You Will Need Parental Consent
In the state of Florida, it is mandated under Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code, that no one under the age of 16 may be tattooed. Just because you are 16 doesn’t mean you can automatically walk into any tattoo parlor and get your first tattoo today. The Florida Administrative Code also states that anyone who is 16 or 17 years old must present a notarized consent form and their parent or guardian must be present for the entire tattoo appointment.
Bring the Completed Paperwork
The paperwork you will need to have filled out prior to your appointment is the Written Notarized Consent for Tattooing of a Minor Child, Age 16 Through 17 Years Old form provided by the State of Florida Department of Health (You can access the form, by clicking here). This form is filled out by the minor’s guardian. It includes the name of the parent or guardian, and the name, date of birth, and age of the child.
The form also includes a description and location of where the tattoo is going to be placed on the minor’s body. Once the form is complete, it must be signed in the presence of a State of Florida certified notary. The notary will then notarize the document, making it officially legal. Even with this document, it is important to remember that your parent or guardian will still need to be present during the tattooing process.
Can You Get a Tattoo Under 16 if You Have Parental Consent?
It is illegal for anyone under the age of 16 years of age to get a tattoo in the state of Florida. Not only does the Florida Administrative Code prohibit children under the age of 16 to get a tattoo, but it also states that the tattoo artist also may not tattoo anyone under the age of 16. This law is in place to hold everyone accountable and protect the minor.
Are There Any Limits to Where You Can Be Tattooed Under Age 18?
Each tattoo shop may have different guidelines when it comes to what types of tattoos they will give to minors, and where the tattoo is placed. Some tattoo shops will not allow the tattooing of a minor near their genital area. Some shops also may put limits on the content of the tattoos. This means that a shop or specific artist may choose not to tattoo any profanity or mature content on the minor’s body.
Ultimately, tattoos artists have the freedom to choose what they are comfortable with, within the guidelines of Florida law. Even though it is legal to get a tattoo at age 16 in Florida, there still may be some shops that require their customers to be 18 years or older in order to be tattooed by one of their artists.
Talk to Your Shop Ahead of Time
Most shops do accept walk-ins, but if you are under the age of 18, it is always best to call ahead or make an appointment. First you will want to talk to the shop and make sure they will allow a minor over the age of 16 to be tattooed. You will also want to ask if they have any additional paperwork or requirements beyond what the state of Florida requires.
While you are speaking with the shop, it is always a good idea to set up a consultation. During the consultation, you can go over your ideas with an artist and make sure the design is exactly what you’re looking for. This also gives the shop an opportunity to make sure that the design is appropriate for their guidelines for tattooing minors. During your consultation, if everything is approved and all parties are satisfied with the plan, you can go ahead and set up your tattoo appointment.
Can You Get Tattooed in Another State Under 18?
The laws surrounding the age a person can get a tattoo vary by state. The state that you reside in is unimportant. The tattoo laws are enforced in the state in which you are seeking to get your tattoo completed. If an artist does a tattoo on a minor without parental consent in a state that requires parental consent, the artist could lose their license permanently.
So, if you are traveling or live nearby a state that allows minors to be tattooed with or without parental consent, you are generally free to do so, since you will not be breaking a law in that state. To see the age requirements by state to get a tattoo, you can check my post here for further details.
What Happens If You Get Caught Lying About Your Age?
If you are caught violating the state law that states that you must be at least 16 years or older to get a tattoo, you could be found guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor. This conviction could carry fines and/or jail time. It really is best to wait until you are of legal age before trying to get a tattoo.
What Happens if An Artist Tattoos a Minor Illegally?
If a tattoo artist tattoos a minor who is under the legal age, which is 16 years old in Florida, they can be subject to a second-degree misdemeanor charge, and will also likely lose their license to tattoo in the state of Florida.
Losing their license in one state could also prevent them from obtaining a license in any other state as well. There are a few protections in place for artists who genuinely thought that the minor was of legal age to receive a tattoo.
If a minor presents what appears to be government-issued photo identification and it is carefully reviewed by the artist before proceeding with the tattoo service, they may not be punished by law. Also, if the minor presents false identification that is genuinely believed by the artist to be a true representation of the individual, there may be no charges.
It’s Best to Obey the Local Laws
When it comes to getting a tattoo as a minor, it’s best to educate yourself on the local laws, and obey them. Breaking the law in order to get a tattoo in Florida before you are 16 years old is just risky. Trying to get a tattoo without parental consent, or by forging your parent’s signature, can get both you and the tattoo artist in major legal trouble.
Getting a tattoo is an exciting experience, and you don’t want to ruin in by putting yourself or the artist and shop at risk. So, if you are under the age of 16 and looking forward to getting your first tattoo in Florida, just be patient! Take the time to do research on the best tattoo shops in your area, and spend some time working on your tattoo design. You’ll be glad you did.
Best Tattoo Care
Bestseller No. 1 Tattoo Goo Aftercare Kit Includes Antimicrobial.
Can You Skydive at 16 Years Old?
In the United States, all skydiving passengers must be at least 18 years of age to jump at United States Parachute Association member dropzones. At Skydive New England, we are often asked if children and teenagers under the age of 18 can skydive with parental consent, but unfortunately, USPA dropzones are restricted from accepting any passengers who are under 18 years old.
Skydiving Age Limit Restrictions
There are two major organizations that prevent children from skydiving:
- The manufacturers of tandem skydiving equipment (Strong Enterprises and United Parachute Technologies): To comply with safety standards set by the FAA, these companies established regulations for the use of their tandem gear, including a minimum age requirement.
- The United States Parachute Association: Taking into account the age of majority, the USPA mandated that a jumper must be at least 18 years of age to skydive, and dropzones affiliated with the USPA must abide by USPA regulations and safety requirements.
Additionally, jumpers who wish to go on a tandem skydive must sign a waiver of rights as skydiving is an extreme sport. This waiver of rights is a legally binding contract that serves as an agreement, release of liability, and assumption of risk. In the United States, an individual must be at least 18 years of age to enter into a legally binding contract. Parents or legal guardians of children under 18 cannot waive their child’s rights and enter into this contract for them.
TANDEM SKYDIVING ALTERNATIVE FOR MINORS
Not old enough to skydive yet? Indoor skydiving is a great way for minors to enjoy skydiving. This alternative sport can be enjoyed by children as young as 3 years old. Wind tunnels simulate the freefall portion of a skydive, which means you get the pure adrenaline rush of freefall throughout the entire experience. Enjoy the feeling of flying like a superhero while you await your 18th birthday!
Here are the 2 indoor skydiving locations in New England:
- – Nashua, NH – Yonkers, NY
WHY SKYDIVING IS WORTH THE WAIT
Skydiving has this amazing way of making you feel absolutely incredible! The feelings you get when you skydive are very freeing and many first-time skydivers walk away after their jump feeling like a new person. Although many people choose to skydive simply for the thrill, they often discover that the remarkable freedom and breathtaking beauty of skydiving are greater than anything they could have imagined. You feel incredibly empowered and accomplished, ready to take on the world and face anything. Check out What Does Skydiving Feel Like to find out more about why skydiving is as extraordinary as it is.
Skydiving Age Limits: The Oldest, Youngest, & InBetweens
Throwing ourselves out of a plane isn’t exactly as common as driving a car, so skydiving age limits can seem a bit of a mystery!
So how old do you have to be skydive? You need to be 18 years old to undertake a solo skydiving course. However, certain airfields do accept tandem jumpers as young as 7 years old. There is no upper age limit for tandem jumpers – there’s even a skydiving club for jumpers over 90!
While that’s the quick answer, I’ve included plenty more information below. Including locations, tips, weight limits, and things to know for younger/older jumpers.
Sound good? Then let’s dive in!
Skydiving Under 18 Years Old
One of the most popular questions is whether people can bring their kids skydiving.
In other words, my kids just saw the latest Mission Impossible movie, and now they’re obsessed.
Can Children Go Skydiving?
The answer yes, kids absolutely can go skydiving, down to a minimum of 7 years old (height/weight dependant). However, this takes the right airfield to do it in. Within the USA I believe there’s only one airfield approved to have child skydivers by the FAA, and that’s located in Western Colorado.
Outside of the US, most English-speaking countries (UK, Australia, New Zealand) allows kids under 18 to go skydiving with a tandem instructor. Again – this depends entirely on the airfield, it can be a rare thing to find.
If you’re having trouble finding a child-friendly drop zone online, I recommend calling any dropzone and asking them directly. Skydive centers tend to be well connected to each other.
Of course, all of this refers to tandem jumping. This is where you’re strapped to a supremely qualified skydiver, and you’re just along for the ride.
Can Children Go Skydiving… Solo?
If you’re talking about skydiving on your own, then the answer is unfortunately no. There’s so many reasons why, including weight limitations (you can’t be too light), gear limitations, and, of course, your Mum would go crazy.
However, in the UK you can go solo skydiving from 16 years old, with parental consent.
Concerns for Kid Jumpers
When it comes to taking a youngster skydiving, safety is always the #1 concern.
I’ve touched on this much more in other articles, but skydiving is incredibly safe.
Especially tandem skydiving. Most reported skydiving injuries are from experienced jumpers trying to push the limits. When it comes to simple, basic jumps that strictly follow all protocols, it’s extremely safe.
In fact, you’re much more likely to be injured on the drive to the airfield, rather than from skydiving.
Aside from safety, the other main concern is whether your child would really enjoy it. All I can say is that you know your kids best. If they love adventure and aren’t afraid to push the boat out, skydiving can be an incredible experience for them. Not only in terms of fun, but one which will give them a ton of confidence and pride (especially if Mum or Dad is doing it too!).
The Maximum Skydiving Age
One of the amazing things about skydiving is that is relatively easy. All movements while in the sky are gentle – the only real ‘active’ part of the whole thing is the landing. (Aside from handling the chafing when your parachute opens).
This is why there’s no maximum age for tandem skydiving. Absolutely none. The only requirement, generally, is that your health is up to scratch. That means no heart, blood pressure, or other serious medical conditions. As long as you’re able to lift your legs up in-front of you while seated, you’ll probably be able to tandem skydive.
Solo skydiving courses tend to have a maximum age of 49. This is true for both static line ## and AFF ## courses. However, exceptions can be made at the airfield – if you prove you’re fit and healthy enough.
Amazing Older Jumpers
There’s some incredible people out there in the world – a bunch of which are skydiving well into their golden years.
Here’s Dilys Price showing us how it’s done at 82 years old!
Here’s one of my favorite ads from them:
These guys and gals are a testament to the saying – “You’re only as old as you act”
Concerns for Older Jumpers
If you or an older loved one are considering to take the plunge, literally, then here are the most common concerns:
- Mobility. No acrobatics are needed – only the strength to lift up your legs. Try sitting on the edge of a seat, and lifting your legs straight up in-front of you. This is the landing position, and you’ll need to hold it for a good dozen or so seconds.
- Injuries. The only common skydiving injuries for tandem jumpers tend to be from a stray hand or foot during landing. Having the confidence to stick to the instructors direction (and not put out a stray limb) is all that’s needed.
- Wind.No, not that wind! The ease of a jump highly depends on how windy of a day it is. If you let the airfield know you’re an older jumper in advance, they can hold off your jump until there’s a suitably calm day to make things easier for you.
- Uncertain? If you’re unsure, the best bet is just to give the drop zone a call. They’ll advise you on whether or not to come down. Once there, they’ll walk through a questionnaire with you and do some basic movements to make sure you’re all set for a jump.
Skydiving Weight Limits
Now while we’re talking about limits – unfortunately – parachutes have a limit too!
Maximum Weight for Skydiving
Being too heavy, or even too light, can cause issues. Not because that parachute would ever rip (they’re strong enough to hold up a small car), but because they can be hard to fly.
Too heavy of a load (especially with a tandem jump) becomes harder to control. You also lose altitude at a faster rate, which makes landing a bit tricky. For this reason, most dropzones have a 220lb (100kg) limit for jumpers. This is fully clothed – including your shoes!
Tandem skydive limits are a bit more lenient, going up to 260lbs. However, they may charge a little extra for this as it may take specialist equipment and the right instructor.
Minimum Skydiving Weight
On the other hand, being too light can be an issue too. Having too little load can mean the parachute hardly descends! For solo jumping, there’s often a minimum weight limit of 8 stone and a height limit of 4ft 11.
I’ve personally seen the light weight issue a ton of times. For some reason, skydiving at our university was super popular with short girls.
My theory is that the shorter you are, the less scared of heights you must be – since you’re always closer to the ground!
Sometimes these girls would be so light they’d take forever to finally come back down. Our plane of jumpers would all have landed, when we realized that one of the girls wasn’t there. Looking up, we’d always spot her still high up in the sky! She took what felt like twice as long to eventually come down (talk about getting your money’s worth).
Most lightweight solo jumpers solve this by wearing a weight belt, and eventually graduating to their own much smaller canopy.
Skydiving isn’t something that everyone just does – so there’s often some confusion around it.
Particularly with age and weight limits. I hope this article has helped clear things up for you.
At the end of the day, your best bet is to call the dropzone you’d jump at and ask them directly. They’ll guide you through their own specific protocols and age/weight limits.
If this content has helped you, please do check out some of our other articles below!